Forty-six emerging designers from around the globe have been announced for iD's prestigious International Emerging Designer Show to be held in Dunedin on Thursday 3rd May and Friday 4th May. Selected from a record 200 entries, the finalists will travel to Dunedin to showcase their designs which will be judged by this year's panel of experts. This year's Emerging selection committee was made up of Kiwi designers Tanya Carlson, Benny Castles from WORLD, and Margi Robertson of NOM*d. "As Australasia's only international emerging fashion competition, designers from the top fashion schools around the world are eager to come to Dunedin to network and to launch their collections on a global platform," said Dr Margo Barton, Professor of Fashion and iD Dunedin Fashion creative director. "The talent on show for 2018 is pushing boundaries with diverse cultural and personal identities explored through their fashion languages. iD 2018 will present a real diversity of cutting-edge international fashion where 17 countries are represented with each collection interpreting elements of that culture in original design."

Prizes include NZ$6000 for the H&J First Place winner, Rodd and Gunn Second Place ($4000), Gallery de Novo Third Place ($2000) and a range of other special prizes.

Tickets on sale from Monday February 26 through

This year’s finalists are:

From New Zealand:

  • Auckland University of Technology: April Gourdie, Ariane Ilagan, Wilbur Hsu.
  • Whitecliffe College of Arts and Design, Auckland: Sally Oh, Catherine Balle, Wade O’Brien.
  • Massey University, Wellington: Gemma Cornish.
  • Otago Polytechnic, Dunedin: Dylan McCutcheon-Peat.

From Australia:

  • Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology: Xiangqiao Sheng, Madeleine Jost, Lucy Dickinson.
  • University of Technology, Sydney: Allie Howard, Alissar Hammoud, Antoinette El-Alam, Yael Frischling, Tess Tavener Hanks, Lisa Liu, Misaki Oba, Jessica Guzman, Sarah Lim.

From Argentina:

  • UBA (Universidad de Buenos Aires): Camila Fuchs and Micaela Clubourg.

From Bangladesh:

  • BGMEA University of Fashion and Technology: Rokaiya Ahmed Purna.

From Canada:

  • Ryerson University: Stephanie Moscall-Varey.

From China:

  • Shanghai University of Engineering Science/Sino-French Institute of Fashion Design: ZhiSheng Cao.

From Croatia:

  • Faculty of Textile Technology Zagreb: Damir Begović

From Israel:

  • Shenkar College of Engineering and Design: Matan Glik.

From Italy:

  • Domus Academy: Adireg Comenoi. 

From Hong Kong:

  • HKPU: Leung Hiu Ching, Shun Yin Wong.

From India:

  • National Institute of Fashion Technology (Mumbai): Shreya Jain.

 From Japan:

  • BUNKA Fashion Graduate University: Kenta Nishimura.

From Mexico:

  • Universidad de Monterrey: Ingrid Aldama.

From Poland:

  • Cracow School of Arts and Fashion Design: Artur Stec.

From Singapore:

  • LASALLE College of the Arts: Joanna Lim.
  • Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts: Vina Liliani.

From Spain:

  • LCI Barcelona: Diana Abalo.

From UK:

  • Manchester Fashion Institute, Manchester Metropolitan University: Katie Clarke, Jade Shields.
  • Birmingham City University: Shafia Begum.
  • University of Westminster: Jasper McGilvray.

From UK/Peru:

  • Nottingham Trent University: Annaiss Yucra Mancilla (Peru)

From USA/Dominican Republic:

  • Fashion of Institute Technology: Margarita and Cristina Ng (twins).

From USA/France:

  • Parsons School of Design: Helena Bajaj Larsen. 

From USA:

  • Savannah College of Art and Design: Naeun Kim.