The MLT Hokonui Fashion Design Awards are the longest running fashion design awards of its kind in New Zealand. Held in Gore, these awards continue to attract entries and interest throughout New Zealand from a variety of talented emerging designers. The competitive platform has been going since 1988 and showcase aspiring fashion designers in front of a judging panel of industry leaders and over 1,300 attendees over the two evenings.

Previous years saw judges such as Margi Robertson, Karen Walker, Francis Hooper, Kate Sylvester, Trelise Cooper, Nic Blanchet, Liz Findlay, Doris Du Pont and many more. This year welcomes a new judge panel including; Wynn Hamlyn designer Wynn Crawshaw, Company of Strangers' designer and owner Sara Munro, and fashion journalist Sally-Ann Mullin.

The 2019 MLT Hokonui Fashion Design Awards Open and School categories are as follows... 

1.     Open Streetwear section

2.     Open Nightlife section

3.     Open Collections section

4.     Open Avante-Garde section

5.     Open Natural Fibres section

6.     Open Menswear section

7.     Open Recycled Section

8.     School Streetwear section

9.     School Nightlife section

10.  School Recycled section

11.  School Natural Fibres section

The MLT Hokonui Strictly Design Evening on Friday 26th July will announce the School section winners and the following night, the MLT Hokonui Gala Awards Evening, will announce the Open section winners.

For more information please visit www.hokonuifashion.co.nz or follow @hokonuifashiondesignawards.